Split Pea and Millet Poetry

Split pea has always been one of my favorite potajes. It gets creamy and rich effortlessly and it’s so full of flavor. I’ve been making it ever since my mom taught me but I’ve Arlene-fied it cause she makes it with animally things.  You can check my recipe below but I’ll warn you, I’ve very bad with measurements and timing so if you’re gonna try making it, just call me and I’ll walk you through it.

I usually have it with rice but today I just dunked some millet in it and it was sheer poetry. On the side, I had some daikon radish and red onion dressed with olive oil, salt and lime.

Split Pea Soup

1 C green split peas                                     1/2 C tomato paste/sauce

5 C vegetable stock or water                  1 t oregano

2 T olive oil                                                    pinch of cumin

1 large onion chopped                               splash of white wine (optional)

1 carrot chopped                                         salt and pepper

3 garlic cloves chopped

Heat olive oil in skillet. Saute onions for 4 minutes then add carrots. Saute until caramelized. Add  a splash of wine if adding and scrape up the caramelized bits from the pan. Otherwise add tomato paste/sauce and stir. Add garlic and saute for 1 minute. Add the split peas then veg stock or water, oregano, cumin, a pinch of salt and and pepper. Cover and cook on medium heat for 30 minutes. Check in 30 minutes for seasoning and add salt or seasonings if necessary.  Continue to cook, stirring every once in a while, until the split peas start to break up. When it gets creamy and you no longer see any whole peas, it’s ready. Serve with a drizzle of olive oil and freshly ground black pepper.

3 Comments

Filed under Dinner, lunch

3 responses to “Split Pea and Millet Poetry

  1. gnavegan

    Que buena esta esa sopa Arlene!!! parece que tuviera un poquito de crema arriba,que es?

    • pinchevegan

      Hola Ana, Es millet – es un grano parecido a la polenta o al quinoa. Si no lo has probado lo debes comprar y te explico como hacerlo. Es rico.

  2. If I want to use tomato sauce: 1) Can I use the famous pink sauce? 2) Do I use 2 cups?

Leave a Reply

